History of trolleys in York, Maine
Trolleys in York date back to 1907, when the Atlantic Shore Railway began operating electric trolleys throughout the Southern Maine area. These trolleys ran on rails and were powered by overhead electric wires. The route ran from Badger's Island in Kittery through York Harbor along Long Sands Beach into Short Sands Beach with a stop next to the Goldenrod, as seen in the photo above. This trolley service became obsolete when the Memorial Bridge opened in 1923 and folks could easily travel to York in their own autos.
In 1984 the New England Trolley Company began offering narrated trolley "bus" tours of York during the busy summer months. The tour route included York Village, York Harbor, the Nubble Lighthouse and York Beach. The tour ran on an hourly basis during the day. The tours continued until the year 2000, the final season for New England Trolley.
In 2003 the York Trolley Company began operations. Initially the company started with one trolley performing narrated tours, much like New England Trolley. In 2004 a second trolley was added to the fleet to introduce the "Beach Trolley" service. In 2005 the tours were suspended to focus on the Beach Trolley. All the while, trolley rentals were becoming more popular, especially for weddings. In 2011 Ginny, our custom built Wedding Trolley, was added to the fleet as a unique alternative for wedding party transportation.
Banner photo provided by the Museums of Old York.